Cow Mania?

8 05 2010

Watercolor by Laurie J. Edwards

I like cows. I really do. I even painted this picture of one looking at me with soulful eyes.

We live in a fairly rural area where we have a few cows across the street along with herds of goats, flocks of guinea fowl, and some donkeys. Yes, donkeys whose brays sound like an tortured child’s screeches. So the quiet cows, who chew their cuds, and the adorable calves with big eyes tug at my heartstrings. It’s hard to believe anyone can actually eat these animals.

But after reading some frightening statistics recently, I discovered that cows are one of the greatest sources of global warming and air pollution. How could such sweet, gentle animals be responsible for this awful deed? It seems their gas is filled with methane. Supposedly cows are a greater hazard to the environment than all the trucks and cars in this country put together. Yikes!

And the biggest contributors to that pollution are the massive farm factories that serve the meat market. Guess I should have painted this instead:

Stop air-pollution! Stop eating beef!

Watercolor/Photoshop image by Laurie J. Edwards

But wait a minute. If we eat the beef, won’t that decrease air-pollution?

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 05 2010
Janice Green

Nice article, Laurie. I’ve only known one cow up close – we had Bossy about a year when I was in primary school. I’m satisfied to look at them, though a bit of a coward when I’m in a field with them. They are peaceful to watch.

I can’t help but wonder if this problem with the cows would go away if they weren’t pumped full of hormones and fattened up artificially. Just a thought. I’m not convinced the global warming “experts” are on the right track anyway. What brought the earth out of the ice age years ago? Surely people had little to do with it.

10 05 2010
lje1

Good thoughts, Janice!

Leave a Reply

