What If You Were Cloned?

15 01 2012

Replication by Jill WilliamsonWhoot!! So excited! Got a copy of Jill Williamson‘s latest book from Zondervan. It came when I had stacks of work to do, including major writing deadlines, so my plan was to read the first page or two, then save it for later. OK, so I read the first chapter, and the second, and… I’m sure you get the picture. Several hours later I’d read the whole book and still can’t get it out of my mind.

I’ve included a synopsis below, but that doesn’t do the book justice. So much of the heart-pounding excitement is left out. And it doesn’t capture the humor or the poignancy. I don’t want to include any spoilers here, but suppose you were a clone who had been isolated in an underground facility and had never experienced life? And what if you escaped for a brief time? Wouldn’t you have a lot of questions? So does Martyr (or J:3:3). And his naïveté leads to many humorous situations.

So often Martyr’s innocent questions leave you torn between wanting to laugh and cry. Williamson is a master at defusing sadness with deft touches of humor. But the humor never detracted from the more serious message: Do clones have souls?

Kudos to Zondervan for being willing to tackle the cloning issue from a totally different point of view. Not whether cloning is right or wrong, but what would happen in the future if cloning humans becomes a reality. Williamson has dealt with this topic in a fun-to-read thriller that raises many thought-provoking questions. Questions that are sure to haunt you–the same way her carefully drawn characters will–long after the book covers are closed.

If you aren’t already a Williamson fan, after reading Replication, dip into her award-winning Blood of Kings trilogy (Marcher Lord Press), which has been compared to Tolkien. She also has stories in the anthologies, Spirited (Leap Books) and Ether Ore (MLP). All well worth reading!

BOOK BLURB

Martyr—otherwise known as Jason 3:3—is one of hundreds of clones kept in a remote facility called Jason Farms. Told that he has been created to save humanity, Martyr has just one wish before he is scheduled to ‘expire’ in less than a month. To see the sky. Abby Goyer may have just moved to Alaska, but she has a feeling something strange is going on at the farm where her father works. But even this smart, confident girl could never have imagined what lies beneath a simple barn. Or what would happen when a mysterious boy shows up at her door, asking about the stars. As the reality of the Jason Experiment comes to light, Martyr is caught between two futures—the one for which he was produced and the one Abby believes God created him to have. Time is running out, and Martyr must decide if a life with Abby is worth leaving everything he’s ever known.

LINK TO SAMPLE CHAPTER

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jill Williamson is a novelist, dreamer, and believer. Growing up in Alaska led to a love of books, and in 2010 her first novel, By Darkness Hid, won the Christy Award. She loves working with teenagers and gives writing workshops at libraries, schools, camps, and churches. Jill lives in Oregon with her husband and two children. Visit Jill online at www.jillwilliamson.com.





Whoot!! It’s here!!

9 04 2010

The second book in Jill Williamson‘s Blood of Kings trilogy, By Darkness Fled, is finally here!! Yay!! I’ve included the buy button in case you want to get an autographed copy.

If you haven’t read the first book, By Darkness Hid, you should snag a copy of that too. It’s been winning lots of awards– its latest honor is being chosen for VOYA’s Best Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Novels of 2009. In March it won the Epicon Best Fantasy Novel of 2009 award. And the reviews have been fab!

School Library Journal highly recommended it and said, “This thoroughly entertaining and smart tale will appeal to fans of Donita K. Paul and J.R.R. Tolkien.” Tolkien no less!! Talk about being in illustrious company.

Even better Amazon’s running a special on the Kindle version of Book 1 during April 2010. You can get it for only 99 cents!! So you can catch up on the world of Er’Rets while you’re waiting for your copy of By Darkness Fled to arrive.

And here’s an excerpt from a review of Book 2, By Darkness Fled, by Publisher’s Weekly:

“Williamson pens an action-packed, imaginative second installment in the Blood of Kings trilogy….All the familiar epic elements and emotions are freshly rendered, with Vrell and Achan especially memorable as they grow during their journey….the pace gallops along, leaving readers hungry for the concluding book.”

map of Er’Rets

Couldn’t resist posting a map of Jill’s fantasy world. If you’ve read the first book, these places will be familiar to you. If you haven’t, you’ll soon be a fan of this wonderfully fleshed-out land. And of her fully developed characters–Achan Cham and Vrell Sparrow, who are guaranteed to capture your heart.