Have You Heard of Prezi?

21 06 2010

I love discovering new things to enhance my presentations, so I was intrigued when I read an article in School Library Journal about it and was intrigued enough to trek on over to the Prezi site. It’s advertised as intuitive and easy to use. And supposedly it beats PowerPoint hands down.

I see that it could be fun to jot down ideas and play with them. Make them larger, draw paths, make sense out of random jottings, but I think right brain and left brain functions are two different things. I wonder if all the creative people end up with fabulous ideas that are messy and disorganized as they bounce from idea to idea with no clear path for others to follow.

My guess is that the super-organized will be so busy lining their jottings up in outline form or alphabetically or some other linear format that they’ll miss the fun of brainstorming, and the scattershot approach will totally pass them by.

So who is Prezi for? Probably those people who don’t mind making an initial mess, then have the ability to edit, organize, classify, and categorize random thoughts. Writers, perhaps? Isn’t that we’re expected to do? Throw creative ideas down on paper without censoring them, then go back and turn them into coherent stories?

Believe me, I wondered about writing a novel on Prezi. Think it would work?

Lesson 1: Prezi in 3 minutes





Whoot!! It’s here!!

9 04 2010

The second book in Jill Williamson‘s Blood of Kings trilogy, By Darkness Fled, is finally here!! Yay!! I’ve included the buy button in case you want to get an autographed copy.

If you haven’t read the first book, By Darkness Hid, you should snag a copy of that too. It’s been winning lots of awards– its latest honor is being chosen for VOYA’s Best Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Novels of 2009. In March it won the Epicon Best Fantasy Novel of 2009 award. And the reviews have been fab!

School Library Journal highly recommended it and said, “This thoroughly entertaining and smart tale will appeal to fans of Donita K. Paul and J.R.R. Tolkien.” Tolkien no less!! Talk about being in illustrious company.

Even better Amazon’s running a special on the Kindle version of Book 1 during April 2010. You can get it for only 99 cents!! So you can catch up on the world of Er’Rets while you’re waiting for your copy of By Darkness Fled to arrive.

And here’s an excerpt from a review of Book 2, By Darkness Fled, by Publisher’s Weekly:

“Williamson pens an action-packed, imaginative second installment in the Blood of Kings trilogy….All the familiar epic elements and emotions are freshly rendered, with Vrell and Achan especially memorable as they grow during their journey….the pace gallops along, leaving readers hungry for the concluding book.”

map of Er’Rets

Couldn’t resist posting a map of Jill’s fantasy world. If you’ve read the first book, these places will be familiar to you. If you haven’t, you’ll soon be a fan of this wonderfully fleshed-out land. And of her fully developed characters–Achan Cham and Vrell Sparrow, who are guaranteed to capture your heart.