And the Line Up Is…

25 05 2010

Last post about the Christy award. I promise. (Well, at least until the winners are announced.) It’s just that when I get excited about something, I have a tendency to go overboard.

So I mentioned that Jill Williamson is up for the award, but lots of other exciting books are in the running in various categories. If you’re a fan of Christian fiction, this would make the perfect reading list:

Contemporary Romance

Breach of Trust

by DiAnn Mills (Tyndale House Publishers)

How Sweet It Is

by Alice J. Wisler (Bethany House Publishers: a Division of Baker Publishing Group)

Stand-In Groom

by Kaye Dacus (Barbour Publishing)

Contemporary Series, Sequels, and Novellas

Who Do I Talk To?

by Neta Jackson (Thomas Nelson)

The Hope of Refuge

by Cindy Woodsmall (WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group)

Daisy Chain

by Mary DeMuth (Zondervan)

Contemporary Standalone

June Bug

by Chris Fabry (Tyndale House Publishers)

The Passion of Mary-Margaret

by Lisa Samson (Thomas Nelson)

Veiled Freedom

by Jeanette Windle (Tyndale House Publishers)

First Novel

The Familiar Stranger

by Christina Berry (Moody Publishers)

Fireflies in December

by Jennifer Erin Valent (Tyndale House Publishers)

Scared

by Tom Davis (David C. Cook)

Historical

A Flickering Light

by Jane Kirkpatrick (WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group)

Though Waters Roar

by Lynn Austin (Bethany House Publishers: a Division of Baker Publishing Group)

The Swiss Courier

by Tricia Goyer & Mike Yorkey (Revell Books: a Division of Baker Publishing Group)

Historical Romance*

Beyond This Moment

by Tamera Alexander (Bethany House Publishers: a Division of Baker Publishing Group)

A Bride in the Bargain

by Deeanne Gist (Bethany House Publishers: a Division of Baker Publishing Group)

The Inheritance

by Tamera Alexander (Thomas Nelson)

The Silent Governess

by Julie Klassen (Bethany House Publishers: a Division of Baker Publishing Group)

Suspense

Intervention

by Terri Blackstock (Zondervan)

Lost Mission

by Athol Dickson (Howard Books: a Division of Simon & Schuster)

The Night Watchman

by Mark Mynheir (WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group)

Visionary

By Darkness Hid

by Jill Williamson (Marcher Lord Press)

The Enclave

by Karen Hancock (Bethany House Publishers: a Division of Baker Publishing Group)

Valley of the Shadow

by Tom Pawlik (Tyndale House Publishers)

Young Adult

Beautiful

by Cindy Martinusen-Coloma (Thomas Nelson)

The Blue Umbrella

by Mike Mason (David C. Cook)

North! Or Be Eaten

by Andrew Peterson (WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group)

Isn’t that a stellar lineup? Happy reading!! Do you have any favorites on the list? Drop me a comment!





More About Jill…

24 05 2010

So yesterday I posted about Jill Williamson being up for the Christy Award.

You can find out more about Jill at her website or her Amazon page, where I lifted the opening sentences of her bio to whet your appetite:

“Jill was raised in rural Alaska. Alone with her thoughts and the moose, daydreaming was a favorite pastime. As was reading…”

And now she’s turned her passion for reading into a passion for writing, and a fine job she’s done of it. Here’s her latest book cover from Marcher Lord Press:

You can get a copy at Amazon or at the Marcher Lord site.

And if you’re wondering just how good this book is, here’s a review about Book One:

“This thoroughly entertaining and smart tale will appeal to fans of Donita K. Paul and J.R.R. Tolkien. Highly recommended for CF and fantasy collections.” —Library Journal

And the praise continues for Book Two:

The second installment of the Blood of Kings series will thrill, surprise, and delight readers just as much as the first. With stellar craftsmanship, the author continues to thrust her characters into a myriad of plot-driven obstacles that will have readers biting their nails late into the night.”

Christian Miles (Amazon review)

With her first book up for a Christy and her second garnering well-deserved praise, you’ll want to grab a copy quickly before they all sell out. And if you want to get an autographed copy, you can get one at Jill’s website.





Big News…

23 05 2010

We interrupt this regularly scheduled broadcast of BEA happenenings to cover some fabulously exciting news. My friend Jill Williamson is up for a Christy!!

Christy Award

How cool is that? So I just have to do a happy dance, and then plug this terrific book that’s been garnering all kinds of praise and winning multiple honors and awards. But now she’s up for one of the biggest awards in the Christian book world.

If you aren’t familiar with the Christy, it started in 1999, and from the website:

“The Christy Award is designed to:

  • Nurture and encourage creativity and quality in the writing and publishing of fiction written from a Christian worldview.
  • Bring a new awareness of the breadth and depth of fiction choices available, helping to broaden the readership.
  • Provide opportunity to recognize novelists whose work may not have reached bestseller status.”

And Jill’s book certainly qualifies for the “quality and creativity” part. So what’s the fab book that’s snagging so much attention? It’s By Darkness Hid, the first book in The Blood of Kings trilogy.

Book Two, To Darkness Fled, is out now. And I’m eagerly awaiting Book Three.