What moves faster: a snail or a glacier?

13 03 2011

snailDo you know? I didn’t. Here’s another fascinating fact I learned as I was researching one of the 266 articles I promised to write by the end of next month. (Yes, I’m certifiably crazy!)

Snails move waaayyy faster than glaciers. The average snail can run rings around a glacier. A snail’s easily more than a hundred times faster…

Now that you know this, don’t you wonder who spent their time conducting races for snails and glaciers? And how long did it take to do the research? If an average glacier moves 6 feet a day, how many glaciers did they have to time and how long did they spend studying each one and averaging the results? And even though snails move faster, conducting snail races to get an average would be time consuming. Bet those researchers got government grants.

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 03 2011
Janice D Green

What fun! Are most of your articles science related? Your research sounds fun and interesting. But I don’t know about those scientists who keep timing the glaciers and snails. I think reading about the results would be more time conscious.

21 03 2011
lje1

I meant what’s in my yard, but you’re right. I should have gone with what’s in the picture. LOL. That would have solved the problem. Thanks. Always good to have fellow authors help with the proofreading. 🙂

21 03 2011
lje1

My articles run the gamut, but you can always tell what writing assignments I have by reading my posts. The posts are usually related to whatever I’m researching. Right now I’m doing a huge series of nonfiction articles–science and geography mainly–so that’ll probably flavor my posts. Although I was planning to post some art I did. It’s from a book that just came out, which is, coincidentally, an eco-mystery. So I guess that, too, is science related.

Leave a Reply

