Ghostwriting

9 01 2011

I began a totally new project in December–ghostwriting a romance. I’ve ghostwritten nonfiction, but this is my first attempt at working from someone else’s synopsis. That’s been a challenge.

I find that my brain starts popping out kernels of ideas until I have bowls full of popcorn, but I have to sweep more than half of it in the trash because it doesn’t fit the outline I’ve been given. I’m convinced that my additions would make for a better, stronger story, but they’d take the book in a totally different direction.

I guess writing to a preset outline is good discipline, as is setting aside several hours a day to work on fiction writing, but I wonder if my creative brain will suffer if I constantly ignore its ideas and directives. Any thoughts?

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 01 2011
HaleyWhitehall

Why don’t you write your own fiction stories? Especially since you think you have better ideas. Why are you ghostwriting one?

13 01 2011
lje1

🙂 Thanks for aksing, Haley. I do write my own fiction (& nonfiction) for both adults & children under my own name as well as several pseudonyms, but to pay the bills, I take on other jobs. This is one of them.

Leave a Reply

