Characters Who Look Like Me

10 10 2010

I’m thrilled to have Kelly Starling Lyons here today as part of her blog tour leading up to the 15th anniversary of the Million Man March. I asked Kelly to tell us about her experiences growing up when there was a dearth of African-American characters in books. Here’s her reply:

As a child, I loved to read. Most days, you could find me snuggled somewhere with a book in my hands. I couldn’t wait to travel through the magic of stories into other lives and lands. But on my literary journeys, one important thing was missing – people who looked like me.

In my early years, I remember reading just one children’s book with an African-American character, Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry. Though that book was set in Depression-era Mississippi, it spoke to me in a special way. For the first time, I was reading a story through the eyes of a girl whose skin color was the same as mine. Though I hadn’t realized it until I read that story, that was something I hungered for.

I was a grown-up writer when I rediscovered children’s books. At Ebony magazine, I wrote feature articles and chose books to showcase in the Bookshelf column. One day, I opened a package from a publisher and my life changed. I saw a picture book called Something Beautiful by Sharon Dennis Wyeth. Entranced, I read page after page until I reached the end. Then, I smiled, stroked the cover and read it again.

The story takes you on a walk with an African-American girl searching for “something beautiful” in her city neighborhood. She visits a laundromat, fruit stand and other places and learns what others consider beautiful. Then, she decides to create beauty herself by cleaning up her community. In the end, she learns who her mother considers the most beautiful person of all.

That book, just 32 pages, sent me through so many emotions. The story was told with such economy and grace. It reminded me of everything I loved about children’s literature and more.

That was the start of my mission to write for kids. Seeing picture books, middle-grade and young adult novels with African-American children as the main characters fed something inside my soul. I knew I had to add my voice.

I began writing for children because I wanted them to see their faces and hear their voices in stories. I began writing for children to help them discover parts of the world and themselves. I began writing for children to give back.

I know what it feels like to never see yourself, your family, your traditions or your history reflected in the pages of books. I write so kids today have a different reality. I love going into schools and sharing One Million Men and Me and hearing a child say, “That story reminds me of a trip I took with my dad,”or “That character looks just like me.”

As part of The Brown Bookshelf, a team that’s dedicated to raising awareness of the many African-Americans creating children’s books for kids, I continue the mission to help kids see themselves in the pages of books. Our signature initiative, 28 Days Later, shines the spotlight each February on African-American children’s book authors and illustrators who are under-the-radar or veterans of the industry. We’re taking nominations through the end of October.

Thanks so much for sharing a part of yourself with us, Kelly. It’s wonderful to know that kids growing up now have some fabulous choices of books with characters who look like them. Check out all the terrific titles at The Brown Bookshelf, including Kelly’s, of course. Her One Million Men and Me has received multiple awards.

Along with the blog tour, Kelly will be heading to several live events (more about those on the Susquehanna Writers blog):

October 15 – 4:30 p.m. Reading  & Meet the Author event at All Booked Up Used Books & Collectibles

October 16 – 15th ANNIVERSARY OF THE MILLION MAN MARCH — 11 a.m. Storytime & Reading  Hour at International Civil Rights Center & Museum

October 18 – 6 p.m. March Anniversary Program at the August Wilson Center for African American Culture

Actions

Information

12 responses

10 10 2010
Marnie Lester

Wow, what an inspirational piece. I could so relate when you talked about your love of literature as a child. I remember my mother telling me that when I was small she would often wonder if I was still in the house as I was so quiet. Usually she found me curled up in a corner reading a book. I would like to read a copy of the ‘Something Beautiful’ book, it sounds wonderful. I am currently writing my third novel and the book title struck me because I just finished a chapter with a line of, ‘beauty can be found anywhere you just have to be willing to look for it.’

12 10 2010
kelstar71

I love that line from your book, Marnie! So true. Something Beautiful is an amazing book. Definitely check it out if you get a chance. Thank you for your kind words. My mom would say the same thing about me. Isn’t it amazing how books just transport you? I would start reading and before I knew it hours had gone by.

12 10 2010
lje1

Hi, Marnie,

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Your novel sounds great. Can’t wait to read it.

20 10 2010
kelstar71

Marnie,
You won a One Million Men and Me tote bag! Please contact me at email@kellystarlinglyons.com so I can send it to you. Thanks again for being part of my virtual tour. And thanks, Laurie, for hosting me :).

10 10 2010
Joyce Moyer Hostetter

Thanks Laurie for sharing this.

I am amazed at how varied every stop on this tour is. I learn something new at each one. Am learning so much about Kelly and was thrilled to meet her yesterday at Tribute to Novello. Now I have my very own signed copy of One Million Men and Me!

12 10 2010
kelstar71

Joyce,
It was so nice meeting you. Thank you for not only hosting me, but coming along on the tour. I appreciate you!

12 10 2010
lje1

Hi, Joyce,

Thanks for stopping by. I’m enjoying reading all the posts & the tidbits Kelly’s posting on her blog about the march.

12 10 2010
Day 6 « Kuumba

[…] to Day 6 of my Virtual Tour! Today, we visit Laurie J. Edwards – Author, Artist and Dreamer  and The Susquehanna […]

12 10 2010
Virtual Tour: Let’s Get it Started « Kuumba

[…] 10 – Laurie J. Edwards – Author, Artist and Dreamer  with a cross-post at The Susquehanna Writers and 6 p.m. interview with Peter Ambush on The […]

12 10 2010
kelstar71

Laurie,
Thanks again for hosting me. I appreciate your kindness and support.

9 02 2012
Celebrate Black History Month « Laurie J. Edwards ~ Author, Artist, Dreamer…

[…] It’s always so exciting to see fellow SCBWI Carolinas members get recognition for their work. I interviewed Kelly Starling Lyons last year for her One Million Men and Me book tour. […]

20 02 2013
Linoleum Printing and Coretta Scott King Award « Laurie J. Edwards ~ Author, Artist, Dreamer…

[…] my blog before, so if you’re interested in finding out more about her, you can read about her One Million Men and Me, which tells about her books and her […]

Leave a Reply

