Stimulating Creativity

1 07 2010

Picture by Clare Bloomfield

Whew! Back from ALA and glad to be surrounded by trees and green again. Guess I’m not a city person. I found the heat, humidity, and press of the crowds draining. I suppose many people find the city exhilarating, but if I lived there for any length of time, I’d miss the black sky spangled with stars, the treetops swaying in the breeze, and the laundry-fresh air after a rain.

Quite a contrast to the city, where neon lights pulsed all night, concrete towers hemmed me in and obscured the sky, and rain swirled oily puddles into the gutters and made the air stink of old urine. I admire those who can live amid the clanking, banging, and exhaust fumes and still remain creative. I wonder if the city sparks a different kind of creativity–a pulsating, in-your-face kind of story. Perhaps my writing needs a jolt of that high energy.

What setting stimulates your creativity?

Actions

Information

5 responses

1 07 2010
Bernie

A beach. Nothing like the steady rhythm of the ocean to lull my conscious brain into letting my unconscious one out to play for a while!

3 07 2010
lje1

Mmm…me too. That’s a great place to come up with ideas.

2 07 2010
maggie

Nature where humanity is quiet and my mind is able wo wander.

3 07 2010
lje1

Ah, yes, sounds delightful!

2 07 2010
maggie

Any place in Nature where the noises of humanity are stilled.

Leave a Reply

