Guilty Pleasures

29 10 2009

journal with penOften writing is an opportunity to free yourself from the chains of the past. To loose the bonds holding you captive, preventing your spirit from soaring. But for me, that freedom always comes with a price tag—guilt. Writing is fun. Losing myself in another world, becoming brave and strong, fearless in the face of danger, is a guilty pleasure. I avoid writing because I enjoy it so much.

When I indulge, my conscience whispers, “Anything that feels this good must be a sin.”

So I put duty before pleasure and crowd out the siren call of the empty page. It’s easier to clean closets or scrub toilets than to pour out my soul on the page. It’s easier to meet deadlines for copyediting or to critique other people’s work than to free my heart. It’s easier to engage in busywork or to cross off items on my to-do list than to let my imagination soar.

Now what’s your excuse?

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 10 2009
Bernie

A 60-hour workweek and an unhealthy addiction to sleep. (And the deep, dark reason: Paralyzing fear that the words on the page won’t be as good as the ones in my head. Because they never are.)

29 10 2009
lje1

Yes, I have that fear as well–whenever I have to show my writing to anyone.

30 10 2009
B

Sometimes I’m scared of the things I’ll say.

Leave a Reply

